This topic contains 8 replies, has 0 voices, and was last updated by grygmpl 7 years, 4 months ago.

• Author

grygmpl
    • Contributions: 0
    • Level 1

Hi,

I'm a newbie on scripting and I would like to create a script that will populate the Location on the line items of a PO based on the Location on the main form.

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks,

Gary
    This is a cached copy. Click here to see the original post.

• #21621 Score: 0

k_dunc
    • Level 1

This certainly sounds achievable. So you'd want to probably write a Client Script for that purpose. Here's a link to SuiteAnswers.

So what you could do, is use a Validate Line function that, upon the user 'adding' a new PO row, you simply populate the Location column with the value of what's in the Location body field. Once you get that working, you could potentially even hide the Location column so the user doesn't even have to interact with it.

• #21622 Score: 0

Vesku1980
    • Level 1

Hi,

I made this kind on functionality with postsourcing function in client script.

function postSourcing(type, name){

if(type === 'item' && name === 'item'){

var loc = nlapiGetFieldValue('location'); // GET Location from main page

nlapiSetCurrentLineItemValue('item', 'location', loc);

}

}

This script is executed when item is added to line.

Vesku

• #21623 Score: 0

grygmpl
    • Level 1

Hi k_dunc and Vesku,

Thank you for your responses Appreciate it a lot. Script is working like a charm.

-Gary

k_dunc replied on 04/27/2017, 09:50 PM: Great to hear.

• #21624 Score: 0

grygmpl
    • Level 1

Hello again,

I also wanted to apply this under the Expenses column ? Is this possible ?

Thanks,

Gary

• #21625 Score: 0

k_dunc
    • Level 1

Hi Gary,

That too should be achievable. Instead of linking to the 'item' sublist, you'd need to link to the 'expense' sublist. Something like this:

Code:
    nlapiSetCurrentLineItemValue('expense', 'location', loc);